Publications

/Publications

The Alphonse and Dorimène Desjardins International Institute for Cooperatives regularly publishes studies in the field of cooperatives. These publications are available for downloading in PDF format.

“Total Assets” versus “Risk Weighted Assets”: does it matter for MREL requirements?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri | July 2016 - MREL requirements were calculated using a large sample of European banks ranked by business model, ownership structure and systemic footprint

Bank business models in Europe: why does it matter for the future of regulation and resolution?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi | July 2016 This analysis can provide market participants, depositors, creditors, regulators and supervisors with a useful tool to better understand the nature of the risk attached to each bank business model.

Regulatory Arbitrage in EU Banking: Do Business Models Matter?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Valerio Pesic | July 2016 - This article examines in three steps the importance of banks’ business models in risk assessment and regulation.

Banking Business Models Monitor 2015 Europe

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen, Ibtihel Sassi, Walid Mathlouthi, Harol Rey, Olivier Aubry | January 2016 - The Banking Business Models Monitor 2015 Europe assesses the European banking sector structure in light of the changing economic, legislative and supervisory environment.

Does Basel compliance matter for bank performance?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Sami Ben Naceur, Barbara Casu, Barry Quinn | December 2015 - An academic paper by Rym Ayadi, Barry Quinn, Barbara Casu and Sami Ben Naceur was accepted for publication in the Journal of Financial Stability.

Banks’ bail-out and a conditionality clause on SMEs support

Author(s): Rym Ayadi | October 2015 - Rym Ayadi contributed to the second issue of the journal “European Economy” dedicated to banks, regulation and the real economy with an article entitled “Banks’ bail-out and a conditionality clause on SMEs support”.

Diversity of the banking sector revisited: Why does it matter post-financial crisis?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi | September 2015 - This commentary explains that the slow macroeconomic recovery, paired with new structures and reforms, are expected to impact European banking systems and business models, leading to new dimensions of diversity.

Does Basel compliance matter for bank performance?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Sami Ben Naceur, Barbara Casu, Barry Quinn | May 2015 - This paper focuses specifically on the adoption of international capital standards and the Basel Core Principles for Effective Bank Supervision (BCP).

State aid to banks and credit for SMEs: is there a need for conditionality?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen, Peter Thyri | February 2015 - This study assesses whether lending to SMEs could and should be one of the conditions for a bank to qualify to receive state aid.

Banking Business Models Monitor 2014 Europe

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen | October 2014 - The Banking Business Models Monitor 2014 Europe offers an annual analysis of the evolving business models within the European banking sector with a focus on three concepts: contribution to the real economy, performance, resilience and robustness.

Publications

/Publications

L’Institut international des coopératives Alphonse-et-Dorimène-Desjardins publie régulièrement des études dans le domaine des coopératives. Ces publications sont disponibles pour téléchargement en format PDF.

“Total Assets” versus “Risk Weighted Assets”: does it matter for MREL requirements?

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri | Juillet 2016 - Les exigences MREL ont été calculées en utilisant un large échantillon des banques européennes classées selon leur modèle d’affaires, leur structure de propriété et leur empreinte systémique

Bank business models in Europe: why does it matter for the future of regulation and resolution?

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi | Juillet 2016 - Cette analyse peut fournir aux acteurs du marché, aux déposants, aux créanciers, aux régulateurs et aux superviseurs un outil utile pour mieux comprendre la nature du risque lié à chaque modèle d'affaires bancaire.

Regulatory Arbitrage in EU Banking: Do Business Models Matter?

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Valerio Pesic | Juillet 2016 - Cet article examine en trois étapes l’importance des modèles d'affaires des banques dans l'évaluation des risques et de la réglementation.

Banking Business Models Monitor 2015 Europe

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen, Ibtihel Sassi, Walid Mathlouthi, Harol Rey, Olivier Aubry | Janvier 2016 - Le Banking Business Models Monitor 2015 Europe évalue la structure du secteur bancaire européen à la lumière des changements dans l'environnement économique, législatif et de surveillance.

Does Basel compliance matter for bank performance?

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi, Sami Ben Naceur, Barbara Casu, Barry Quinn | Décembre 2015 - Un article académique de Rym Ayadi, Barry Quinn, Barbara Casu et Sami Ben Naceur a été accepté pour publication dans le Journal of Financial Stability.

Banks’ bail-out and a conditionality clause on SMEs support

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi | Octobre 2015 - Rym Ayadi a contribué au deuxième numéro de la revue « European Economy » dédiée aux banques, à la réglementation et au secteur réel avec un article intitulé « Banks’ bail-out and a conditionality clause on SMEs support ».

Diversity of the banking sector revisited: Why does it matter post-financial crisis?

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi | Septembre 2015 - Ce commentaire explique que la lente reprise macroéconomique, conjuguée à de nouvelles structures et réformes, devrait avoir une incidence sur les systèmes bancaires et les modèles d'affaires européens, conduisant à de nouvelles dimensions de la diversité.

Does Basel compliance matter for bank performance?

Auteurs(s) : Rym Ayadi, Sami Ben Naceur, Barbara Casu, Barry Quinn | Mai 2015 - L'étude se concentre spécifiquement sur l'adoption de normes internationales de capitaux et sur les principes fondamentaux de Bâle (PFB) pour un contrôle bancaire efficace.

State aid to banks and credit for SMEs: is there a need for conditionality?

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen, Peter Thyri | Février 2015 - Cette étude vise évalue si le crédit aux PME pourrait et devrait être l’une des conditions pour qu’une banque se qualifie pour recevoir des aides d’État.

Banking Business Models Monitor 2014 Europe

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen | Octobre 2014 - Le Banking Business Models Monitor 2014 Europe fournit un suivi annuel de l’évolution des modèles d'affaires des banques européennes selon trois concepts clés : la contribution à l’économie réelle, la performance et la résilience et la robustesse.